Statutes & Regulations

The statutes and regulations are linked to below.

Statutes

Regulations

 

Downloadable pdfs are available to make it easier for you to review hearing aid dispensing statutes and regulations.

 

All licensees and applicants are advised that engaging in mail order/remote hearing aid dispensing is forbidden under statute K.S.A. 74-5819 (f). The exact wording is below, in blue (for effect). 

 

74-5819. Prohibited practices. No person may:

(a) Sell, barter or offer to sell or barter a license.

(b) Purchase or procure by barter a license with intent to use it as evidence of the holder's qualification to practice the fitting and dispensing of hearing aids.

(c) Alter materially a license.

(d) Use or attempt to use as a valid license a license which has been purchased, fraudulently obtained, counterfeited or materially altered.

(e) Willfully make a false, material statement in an application for a Kansas license or for renewal or reinstatement of a Kansas license.

(f) Sell through the mail, courier or delivery service, internet, telephonically or electronically hearing instruments without prior fitting and testing by a licensee except for a replacement of a hearing instrument that was previously fitted and tested by a licensee.

History: L. 1968, ch. 164, § 19; L. 2006, ch. 115, § 19; July 1.

 

 

Documents

FAQs

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and have have graduated from an accredited high school or equivalent. The applicant must have a supervisor (AKA sponsor), pursuant to requirements outlined in K.S.A. 74-5812, pay specified fees ($100 application fee and $100 temporary license fee), and complete the temporary license application.

Pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5814, the board may issue a license to a person who is currently licensed to practice fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments in another jurisdiction if there is both continuous licensure to during the 5 years immediately preceding the application and the absence of disciplinary actions of a serious nature brought by a licensing board or agency of another jurisdiction.

Generally, no. According to K.S.A. 74-8514, those that have obtained a doctoral degree in audiology (from an accredited university) AND are licensed in Kansas as an audiologist are exempt from taking the state written and practical exams.

10 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) are required for annual license renewal. Only 3 of the 7 CEUs can be ancillary (i.e., non-HA related). The CEUs must be obtained from July 1st to June 30th, annually. 7 CEUs may be obtained online, but 3 CEUs must be obtained in-person.

Click the "Verify License" link in the upper right of the website. Enter the licensee's last name and click the "search" button.

Click the ONLINE PAYMENTS link in the upper right corner of the website. This will redirect you to NIC where you can make payments online. This is now setup where I will be automatically notified when as payment is made. Checks and/or Money Orders will NOT be accepted.

Wednesday, April 17, 2024 Thursday, October 17, 2024 Tuesday, April 15, 2025

The next board meeting will be held on Thursday, Oct, 19th 2023 at 1:00 p.m. on Microsoft TEAMS. Please email Mark Shaver mark.shaver@ks.gov for information regarding this meeting.